The Time Has Come The Walrus Said

Today was the end of something that someday will seem so far away, yet oddly important; something that changed me in ways that I didn’t think possible. This letter is for all of you have been there at one point or another in the beginning stages of my professional life.

Dear Friends,

As I sit here, thinking about my very last day of work with the company that I have been a part of for nearly seven years, I find myself reflecting on the times that many of us have shared. I was hired at eighteen in my first week of college and remember thinking at the time that I would never stay beyond the four years ahead of me. As time went on, though, new opportunities presented themselves and relationships formed. I found myself becoming part of a family of sorts; dysfunctional at times, but always with an underlying sense of unbreakable togetherness.

These years have been filled with sadness, frustration, laughter, and some of the best memories a person could hope to have. I’ve learned more from my time here than many people could imagine. Among these things, I’ve learned patience, (some) humility, and a deep respect for others, which in turn allowed me to find an even deeper respect for myself. Many of you gave me the strength to be myself without fear of what that would mean. You have changed my life simply by being in it and few if any of you can see the far reaching impact you have had not only on me, but others as well. You were more than just coworkers; you were and always will be friends.

With that being said, it is with a semi-heavy heart that I move onto the next chapter of my life; a chapter filled with opportunities for personal and professional growth, and a greater sense of who I am as an individual beyond the walls of an organization that has only stunted this growth.

There is so much more I want and need to do and these things can only be done if I step beyond my comfort zone and into the vast expanse of the unknown. With any luck, the things that you have taught me will help me to become the person I was always meant to be. Words cannot express how grateful I am to have met each and every one of you and I have no doubt that our paths will cross again some day. Until then, keep your heads up and never lose sight of the difference that each one of you makes on a daily basis in even the smallest of ways.

Sincerely Yours,
C.

Until next time…stay classy.
– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Time Has Come The Walrus Said

  1. boml says:

    Ending a chapter to begin a new one! Here is to what ever your future holds!

    Like

Leave a Reply

