Decidedly Delicious #7: Southwestern Scramble

For those of you who know me well, you know that I hate to waste things; anything from leftover pieces of paper to leftovers in the refrigerator. Everything can be used and reused until it can’t be used anymore. In my mind this approach will help reduce the damage that we are doing to our world and also cut down on costs in a world where EVERYTHING is becoming more expensive. With that in mind, I found myself rummaging through the refrigerator today and pulling out some of the things that were close to “on the way out,” but not quite there yet. Don’t get me wrong; I know when to let things go, but I also know when to repurpose them for a tasty meal.

I found myself with a several items: cut up ham, a stack of hash browns that apparently nobody in my household wanted to eat (-_-), and eggs and parmesan cheese that were nearing the end of their life cycles. With these few items and a few more additions to add the necessary flavor, I pulled out a skillet and went to town on making this new installment of decidedly delicious.

INGREDIENTS:
2 Tbsp. Canola Oil
2 Tbsp. Margarine
2 Tbsp. Ketchup
1 Tbsp. Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb Seasoning
1 Tbsp. Italian Seasoning
3 Large Eggs
¼ lb. Cut Up Ham
10 Hash Browns Patties
¼ Cup Shredded Parmesan Cheese

Put the hash brown patties and the canola oil in a medium skillet on low heat. Mash up the hash browns as much as you can and let sit for a few minutes. Cut up the ham into small chunks and add it to the mix. Turn up the heat to medium and add in your margarine, seasonings, and ketchup. Stir until evenly mixed. While the mixture is cooking, scramble up your three eggs in a bowl to the side. When the hash browns are a little more browned and the ham has a bit of a crisp to its edges, pour in the scrambled eggs. Stir in evenly making sure that the egg gets cooked fully. Toss in your parmesan cheese and give it that final stir, before getting ready to serve this easy, delicious breakfast concoction.

Southwestern Scramble

There you have it: another quick and tasty meal that will feed many mouths and cut down on waste and cost in the process. Thanks for stopping by and check out some of my other creations in the Decidedly Delicious section of my blog.

Until next time…stay classy.
– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

