The Man In The Mirror

My blog posts have been few and far between these days. A great part of that comes down to laziness and the rest comes down to a simple lack of time. I promise to try harder for those of you who like to read what I write. I also hope I don’t seem like a pretentious bastard for writing about myself in the third person. I didn’t intend to, but my train of thought brought me there. As always comments are welcome…

It’s kind of strange to think about the changes we go through during our lives. From one day to the next we become different people. We grow and learn and gradually mold ourselves into these people that we barely recognize. Today alone I looked in the mirror and for a fleeting moment didn’t even know the person staring back at me. He was a stranger. His face was covered in stubble and his eyes looked heavy; the kind of heavy that comes with the wear and tear of life and reflects a vast expanse of experiences that have brought him to this point.

I immediately felt a twinge of sadness for him; it was all-consuming and struck me in a way that I had never been struck before. I felt sad for everything he had lost and every experience that brought him pain. I felt sad for the opportunities that he missed and even sadder for chances that he was too afraid to take. I thought about these things for what seemed like a great while, turning them over in my mind and examining them from every angle.

As I dove deeper and really examined them, however, the sadness that I initially felt was swept away and replaced with something greater: a feeling of pride; pride in what he had become, the trials he had faced, and the countless lessons that he learned. Life had taken its toll on the man in the mirror – that was evident in everything I could overtly see of him – but this man in front of me was exactly that: a man; one who had left behind the beginning stages of his life and evolved in ways that nobody ever thought possible.

Beneath the stubble and the golden green irises is a wealth of experiences, both good and bad, that has brought with it depth of character and the needed changes that come with being an adult. This man in the mirror is the stranger that he needed to become to navigate the waters of this world.

While it’s strange to think about who he is and where he is going, for the first time I can honestly say that from what I can see, I shouldn’t be too worried about him; he’ll end up exactly who, what, and where he needs to be.

Until next time…stay classy.
– C.M. Berry

If you liked this blog post, feel free to check out the rest by following the archive links on the right hand column of the page. You can also “Follow” me on Twitter @ Chrber07, “Like” my Facebook writing page using the social plugin at the top right hand side of the page, or follow my blog directly with email updates using the button on the right. Thanks for stopping by.

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

