Confessions Of A Fat Kid

I wrote this a while ago and only recently came across a bunch of online posts about fat kid confessions (most of which were inspired by Jenna Marbles). From what I’ve seen a great deal of the confessions only scratch the surface and never really talk about some of raw feelings and thoughts that come with growing up overweight, which isn’t too surprising seeing as most of the people who have made these videos, pictures, and posts are thin and only doing so in a joking manner. While I would venture to say that everyone deals with some form of insecurity in their lives, there is no doubt in my mind that the majority of these people making these confessions have little experience with the level of insecurity that comes with chronic weight problems early on in life. My guess is that if they did they would more than likely take a somewhat more serious approach to the issue.

Many of the confessions listed below are things that have come into my mind from time to time throughout my life; things that have tormented and tested me in the same ways that they may have you. Problems with weight and body image are deeply-rooted issues and a comical approach often does more harm than good. So here are some of the things that many of us have thought or felt, but have been too afraid or embarrassed to share. Here are our confessions:

1. I want to know what it’s like to be comfortable enough with my body to take my shirt off at the beach.
2. I want to know what it’s like to walk into a clothing store and not be afraid that they don’t carry my size.
3. I want to know what it’s like to not wonder if people are watching and judging me as I eat.
4. I want to know what it’s like to know that people are paying more attention to the size of my heart than to the size of my waist.
5. I want to know what it’s like to feel the pride that comes with being called an athlete and a champion.
6. I want to know what it’s like to look in the mirror and be proud of my curves.
7. I want to know what it’s like to be picked first; not for my size, but rather for my talents.
8. I want to know what it’s like to be comfortable with eating alone in public.
9. I want to know what it’s like to not worry that I’m too large for carnival rides.
10. I want to know what it’s like to be more than just another statistic.
11. I want to know what it’s like to be called beautiful, handsome, gorgeous, etc.
12. I want to know what it’s like to have something to look forward to.
13. I want to know what it’s like to have someone see me and not just my outer shell.
14. I want to know what it’s like to feel sexy and desirable in my own skin.
15. I want to know what it’s like to know without a doubt that they are laughing with me and not at me.
16. I want to know what it’s like to go even one day without wanting to give up and throw it all away.
17. I want to know what it’s like to feel confident and in charge of my life.
18. I want to know what it’s like to not be afraid to go to school.
19. I want to know what it’s like to have someone in my corner, fighting for me.
20. I want to know what it’s like to not hate myself because I’m weak.
21. I want to know what it’s like to not feel like I have to eat to fill the voids in my life.
22. I want to know what it’s like to not wonder what my friends really think of me.
23. I want to know what it’s like to not be afraid of what the doctor will say at my next visit.
24. I want to know what it’s like to not be held back by my weight.
25. I want to know what it’s like to be more than just “the fat kid.”

I encourage you to not only comment if you feel the need, but to share it as well with as many people as you would like. Thanks for stopping by.

Until next time…stay classy.
– C.M. Berry

Don’t forget that you can “Like” me on Facebook using the social media plug-in at the top right hand corner of the page or “Follow” me on Twitter @Chrber07. You can also receive emails with updates to my blog by signing up on the right hand column of the page.

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Fat Kid Chronicles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions Of A Fat Kid

  1. boml says:

    Awesome post Chris. I have, without a doubt felt all of those and more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

