Decidedly Delicious #4: Sweet & Spicy Chili

So if you know me well, you know that I have a torrid love affair going on with the crock pot in my kitchen. I frequently find my mouth watering, lusting over what that thing can do. Today I decided to try my hand at making my one of a kind Sweet & Spicy Chili.

002

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 lbs. GROUND BEEF
  • 1 lb. GROUND SWEET SAUSAGE
  • 3 CUPS HUNTS FOUR CHEESE SAUCE
  • 1 CUP HUNTS ZESTY & SPICY SAUCE
  • 1/2 CUP FRANK’S RED HOT BUFFALO WING SAUCE
  • 1/4 CUP KETCHUP
  • 1 CUP DICED SCALLIONS
  • 4 CHOPPED MUSHROOMS
  • 2 CUPS SMALL RED BEANS
  • 1 PACKET OF CHILI SEASONING
  • 1 CUP MEXICAN BLEND SHREDDED CHEESE

This chili recipe is probably one of the easiest recipes I have ever come up with. Turn the crockpot on high and pour in both types of pasta sauce with your buffalo wing sauce, ketchup, and chili seasoning. Stir until everything has been mixed evenly. While the crockpot is warming up, chop up four mushrooms and a cup’s worth of scallions. Toss them into the mix with two cups of beans. You could really use whatever type of beans you like. For this recipe I used whatever I could find in the pantry, which turned out to be some type of small red beans.

Toss the ground sweet sausage into a frying pan and cook on medium heat for about ten minutes. In retrospect it really doesn’t matter if you fry up the sausage at all. It’s going to cook while it’s in the crockpot anyway. I just find the need to keep myself busy while the crockpot is getting to the temperature that I need to work with. By the time the sausage is done the crockpot should be ready to go.

Put the sausage into the mixture along with the uncooked ground beef. I don’t fry up the ground beef like I do the sweet sausage because I feel that the juice from the ground beef adds something to the flavor of the chili and keeps it from becoming too thick. When everything is in the pot, cover it and make sure it is evenly mixed and set on high for a solid hour.

You can occasionally check on it like I do and stir it every fifteen minutes or simply let it sit and stir it at the end. Either works. When the hour is up reduce the heat to low and toss in the cup of Mexican blend shredded cheese. Stir evenly and serve!

This recipe can easily serve a large group of people. If you end up trying it and liking it, let me know in the comments section below. Or if you have any ideas on how to make it even better, I welcome them.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

