Decidedly Delicious #2: Loaded Mashed Potatoes

So let’s be honest; I’m generally only invited over to other people’s homes during the holidays for three reasons: to make/bring something delicious to the table, to mix drinks, or to provide a combination of the two. While I would love to say that it’s my charm that reels people in, I will wholeheartedly admit that it’s most likely my culinary skills instead.

I should be offended, but for some reason I’m not!

With that being said and Thanksgiving being upon us, I think it’s time for me to bring some of these skills into your homes and bellies. So why not kick off this week with one of my own personal favorites: Loaded Mashed Potatoes. The great thing about mashed potatoes (beyond the ability to comfort me) is that there is incredible variation in how the dish is made. It comes down to personal taste, individual cravings, and a lot of creativity.

Sometimes I’ll use shredded pepperjack cheese to give it more of a kick. Sometimes I forego the onions all together. Before yesterday I had never even used dill in them. The point is that this can be whatever you want it to be. You can add or subtract however much you want of each thing to create something that you personally enjoy. Get creative. Just remember that the key to great mashed potatoes is an excessive amount of unhealthy dairy products! If you remember that you’re all set.

SADLY I WON’T HAVE A PICTURE TO UPLOAD TO THIS UNTIL LATER IN THE WEEK WHEN I MAKE THEM AGAIN. FOR NOW YOU’LL HAVE TO TRUST THAT THEY LOOK DELICIOUS!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 5 lbs. RUSSET POTATOES
  • 1 lb. RED SKIN POTATOES
  • 4 Oz. SHREDDED MOZZARELLA CHEESE
  • 4 Oz. SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE
  • 1/2 CUP DICED SCALLIONS
  • 1/4 CUP DICED SHALLOTS
  • 1 TSP GARLIC SALT
  • 2 OZ. CREAM CHEESE (1/2 OF ONE BAR)
  • 1 CUP SOUR CREAM
  • 1/3 CUP FRESH DILL

Begin by peeling all of the russet potatoes, but make sure to leave the skins on the red ones. For some reason it seems like the red potato skins provide more flavor. After you’ve finished peeling make sure to wash both the russet and red potatoes. (While this may seem like common sense, I can assure you that common sense is not common these days.) Take out your cutting board and cut the potatoes into smaller chunks. They’ll cook faster in the boiling water this way and save you some time. When all of the potatoes have been cut up, place them into a large pot of boiling water for a solid 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. While the potatoes are cooking use this down time to dice up the scallions and shallots to add to the mix later on. When enough time has passed check on the potatoes, keeping in mind that some stoves cook differently. If you can easily cut through one of the chunks with a butter knife the potatoes are ready. Pour them into a colander and let them sit for five minutes in order to drain properly and cool down a bit.

Now comes the fun part! Place the potatoes in a large mixing bowl and take a fork (or an actual masher if you have one) and mash them up a bit by hand for a minute. After they are slightly mashed, put your electric mixer on low speed and mix for three minutes, adding in the other ingredients one by one while the mixer is on. When all of the ingredients have been added to the mix turn up the speed and continue until all of the ingredients have been evenly distributed and you have reached a consistency that you are comfortable with. I tend to like my mashed potatoes thicker, but a lot of other people don’t. If you need them creamier I recommend adding more sour cream to the mix. Some people use milk, but I find that it makes it too soupy. Sour cream helps reach a smoother, creamy consistency without the soupy feel to it. For a final touch add a sprinkle of shredded cheese on top and you’re good to go. Serve and enjoy!

For more great recipes stay tuned. Just wait until I post my spike cider recipe! You’ll be hooked.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decidedly Delicious #2: Loaded Mashed Potatoes

  1. Jill says:

    Sounds yummy!

    Like

    • C.M. Berry says:

      It really is. I can’t wait to make it again later this week. My friends and I had a mini thanksgiving yesterday and I made mashed potatoes with a few alterations (the dill and no scallions/shallots).

      Like

Leave a Reply

