Days Like These

There are so many days in which I would like nothing more than to give up; days that seem so hard from the moment I climb out of bed to the moment I climb back in it. My guess is that most of us have days like these; days that push us to the breaking point. I suppose that it’s days like these, however, that show us what we’re made of. It’s days like these in which we learn about ourselves; if we’re strong enough to fight the overwhelming urge to give up and if we’re capable of delivering our very best when we want nothing more than to put forth the least amount of effort possible.

On days like these I silently ponder how I manage to get through it all; how I find the fuel to carry on when all I want to do is return to the warm embrace of my bed. It’s true that caffeine helps a little bit; sometimes even liquor gives me the fuel I need to fight the good fight (or at least numb the losses). When I really stop to think about it, though, it has nothing to do with the caffeine or the liquor, or even my sense of responsibility; I get through the day by remembering that I’m not alone. I get through the day by remembering that there are others out there struggling as much and often more so than I am. While I’m climbing out of bed, putting on my big boy pants, a matching shirt, and my finest smile before making my way into the world, there is someone else out there doing the very same; someone who is struggling just as much as I am and someone who is trying his or her very best to carry on when giving up seems so appealing.

It’s true that some days are harder than others and more times than I’d like to admit I would like nothing more than to throw in the towel; to say to hell with it all and down a good ten or so bottles of beer. It’s on days like these, however, that I remember that we’re all human and no matter how far apart we all seem at times we’re all connected in even the smallest of ways. Our lives are intertwined and with that understanding we find that we’re never alone; that no matter where we are and what we’re doing, there is someone else out there who understands. For this reason alone, I am thankful for days like these.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

