A Touch Of Poetry: Malevolence

I actually wrote this poem months ago when I was questioning the motives of someone important in my life. Until recently I didn’t have the words I needed to finish it. Simply put, this poem is meant to illustrate what a person outwardly portrays versus the reality of what’s underneath; the game of deception that many of us play while in a relationship. Comments are welcome.

“Malevolence”

Heaven sent or malevolent?

I simply could not tell

If you’re an angel of the Lord

Or a denizen of hell.

With golden locks, a smile sweet,

And eyes of baby blue

T’was easy for the likes of me

To quickly fall for you.

Or at least for each new promise.

Like water they did flow,

Permeating all my skin

Before reaching far below.

Your words; Purely polished silver

Or something just as sleek

For you exploited all of me

And then left me feeling weak.

For some reason I ignored it

Or maybe I was blind

And only saw the angel face

That a demon hid behind.

 Heaven sent or malevolent?

I sadly now can see

That you’re no angel of the Lord;

Just a devil devotee.

Go on. Wear your shining halo

And all its golden light.

‘Cause we both know that halo’s glow

 Dies out quickly in the night.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

