A Touch Of Poetry: Alas, We Sit In Silence

I wrote this poem in the winter of last year after I had decided to finally tell my parents that I’m gay. Their reactions were nowhere near what I had expected them to be and it kind of threw me for a bit. This poem gives you some insight into the emotions that came with the process. As always comments are welcome. Enjoy.

“Alas, We Sit In Silence”

Your silence nearly deafens me

Because I am not prepared

To sit and wonder quietly,

Uncertain and quite scared.

For scared is what I surely am.

I am scared to face the fact

That instead of saying something

You choose to not react.

You hold your tongue and clench your jaw

And refuse to say a word

As if the things I shared with you

Had somehow gone unheard.

I sit here with my mouth agape

Waiting for a single sign

That I am not invisible;

That we are somehow fine.

But alas, we sit in silence

For a length of time unknown,

With you engrossed in thoughtlessness

And I trapped in my own.

I’ll not sit here any longer.

I’ll not give you precious time

To carry on your silent ways

And interrupt my climb

Toward a life of happiness

Where finally I can be

Unmistakably unburdened

And altogether free.

Until next time…stay classy.

– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

