A Touch Of Poetry: Betrayed

I wrote this poem in the fall of last year as I teetered back and forth with the decision to come out to my friends and family as a gay individual; something that I’m sure I’m not alone in. Coming out is a terrifying thing and every time I thought I had gained the courage to say something, I would fall back into the silence for fear of how others would react. Luckily for me, I finally found the inner peace I needed and the strength to stand on my own without approval from anyone. This poem simply shows the battle between head and heart. Comments are always welcome.

“Betrayed”

My head betrayed my heart today

In a failure to submit

To my heart’s new chosen path

In which I do permit

Myself to be among the few

Who have openly declared

That we are proud and unashamed

And finally prepared

For what this world could hurl our way:

Hatred and a lack of rights,

Violent crimes and broken homes,

And frightened sleepless nights.

My heart was fine to take a stand,

But my head was too afraid

So I remained amidst the crowd,

Enduring the charade.

My head betrayed my heart today

For my head was simply weak

And altogether terrified

To hold its own and speak.

Until next time…stay classy.

– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

