A Touch Of Poety: A Picture Worth A Single Word

I wrote this poem in November of 2011 as a mental response to something I had seen. In many ways this poem parallels my blog about freedom of speech vs. hate speech. There comes a point where a line is crossed from a piece of “art” just being a piece of art to it being a weapon of hate. While I do not intend to argue the definition of art, I do wish to portray the outrage I feel with the defense of such hate as simply a work of art, being that I always have and always will identify as an artist first and foremost. Comments are welcome!

“A Picture Worth A Single Word”

Not a thousand words it spoke;

In fact it spoke but one;

A word that somehow troubled me

For it could surely stun

The viewers of this frame: Hate.

A word that we all know;

A word that only sickens me

For damage it does sow.

You boldly called it artwork;

A fairly heavy claim

For persons of such little truth

Who only wish to blame

Others for their shortcomings;

You put us in the wrong;

You propagate your growing hate

And string the world along.

How dare you call this artwork!

How dare you claim a right

To hang this up with other works

That do not hurt or slight

Men and women just like you.

For don’t we hurt? Or bleed?

Do we not feel the very same

Essential human need

For love? To simply belong?

We are art. This is hate.

And of this matter I shall not

Accept your ill debate.

Until next time…stay classy.

– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

