A Touch Of Poetry: Sanctity

In the last few months I have spent so much time focusing on my blog and writing stories that I have altogether neglected my poetry, which is strange considering that it’s where it all began; where I learned that I have a voice and so much more to say than I originally thought. With that being said I think it’s time to share with you this aspect of my writing. Comments are always welcome and I hope you enjoy what I have written.

This is a poem I wrote about marriage equality; something that means a great deal to me. I think that people who haven’t been discriminated against really don’t understand how hard it can be sometimes. This poem is meant to bring light to this issue and make it blatantly clear that I am not a second class citizen. I demand equality and I ask that others stand with me.

“Sanctity”

You think you know, but you can’t see

All the pain that you cause me

Each time you speak your wicked words

Of flawed equality.

My pride disrupts the ‘sanctity’

Of marriage, apparently;

And can cheapen it to a such an

Overwhelming degree

That when I kneel on bended knee,

Showing love for all to see,

I am not met with simple joy,

But with hostility.

I am then told that I can’t be

Married to the man I see

As my equal. As my partner;

The better part of me.

Please tell me when a court’s decree

Could give right to guarantee

That I can’t marry who I choose,

With such audacity

To condemn my identity

With broken rights, bigotry,

And the somehow growing norm of

Blatant iniquity.

So now I stand with clarity,

Sense of pride, and dignity

To say vehemently that I

Demand equality

And ask that you will stand with me

Readily and willingly

To battle the decisions born

Of amorality.

Until next time…stay classy.

– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

