A Likely Story

So I thought I would give everyone something a little different today. I have decided to share with you a piece of a story that I wrote. It doesn’t have a title and it’s far from complete, but here are a couple paragraphs to give you a taste of what I can do when I’m not flooding the page with my opinions, but rather an actual piece of literature. There’s not much here, but I think you’ll get a feel for my style and approach to story-telling. Comments are always welcome…

“…And that’s when it happened. In the dead of the night I broke down. It came like a river that could not be contained, vast and overflowing. The dam holding it all in had given way and everything I had been feeling for all of these years washed down my cheeks and fell to the floor; every drop a memory. In a moment of unbridled despair there was nothing I wanted more than to have you there holding me as it all came crashing down; and I hated you for it. I hated that you were the only person in the world who could look at me and in an instant dry my memories and put them back where they belonged. I hated that I loved you so much after you took all of me, stripping away my dignity and self-respect one piece at a time. You were everything to me and without you I felt like nothing; nothing more than a shell of what I used to be.

So I cried. I cried because you broke my heart. I cried because it felt like the only thing left for me to do. I cried because I still loved you – every single part of you; the good, the bad, and everything between. I loved all of you. Unfortunately for us, every love has a limit to how much it can withstand and today we found that limit. Or maybe it found us. Either way, I sat and I cried until my memories formed a pool around my feet and in no time at all the brief reprieve of night took hold and held me when you could not.”

Until next time…stay classy.

– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

