What I Say & What I Really Mean

So let’s be honest for a minute; most of us say things on a daily basis that either have a double meaning or mean something entirely different than how the words typically come across. This isn’t to say that I’m insincere; just simply that I, like many others, sometimes mask my intent with other words to avoid any number of things: unnecessary conflict, a prolonged conversation with someone I don’t want to speak to, or because more can be said by saying less. The following phrases that I use frequently sometimes (but not always) mean more than what immediately comes to mind:

1. “I have a favor to ask.” =

“I need something and you better not say no after everything I’ve done for you.” 

2. “It was really nice to see you.” =

“Of all the people I could have run into, you were the last one I expected to see and unfortunately not one of the ones I could have awkwardly ignored.” 

3. “Can I ask you something?” =

“I plan on asking you something inappropriate either way so I thought I would cushion the blow by being polite first.” 

4. “I’m just tired.” =

“I’m thoroughly annoyed with either you or someone else and would like some peace and quiet. Please and thank you.”

5. “I feel really off today.” =

“My mental stability is in question today. You have been warned.” 

6. “Are you sure?” =

“I’m almost positive you’re wrong right now.” 

7. “Weird.” =

“I forgot what we were just talking about or don’t know how to respond and have nothing to say as a result, but feel compelled to respond so as not to seem rude.”

8. “I don’t feel like going out tonight.” =

“I don’t think I can muster the energy for another night of biting my tongue around people who are either too uptight to handle how direct I am or too self-absorbed to listen to anything other than the sound of their own voices.”

9. “I’m glad we’re best friends.” =

“I definitely just won.”

10.“Interesting.” =

“I really don’t care.”

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

For writing updates you can:

Follow me on Twitter at Chrber07

https://twitter.com/#!/Chrber07

Or “Like” my new Facebook Page at

https://www.facebook.com/colormechris

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

