A Bike Trail Blessing

A few hours ago something compelled me to take leave of my house and trek into the great unknown, which in this case was the bike trail in Lanesborough. It may have been due to the lack of Vitamin D or simply boredom, but either way I hit the pavement with enthusiasm and a pair of poorly chosen sandals. After completing mile three of my six mile journey with sore feet and a newly forming tan, I found myself facing Cheshire Lake with a great sense of calm and an unexpected appreciation for the world around me.

Within minutes the wheels of thought began to turn and with it a profound feeling overcame me: a feeling of being blessed with the gift of being able to experience the world through all five of my senses; being able to absorb the beauty of life with all of myself: my eyes, my ears, my nose, my mouth, and the skin that envelopes me.

There are so many people in this world born without some of these senses or stripped of them due to accident or disease; people who do not have the opportunity to experience the world in the ways that I can. They can’t see the dragonflies at my feet or the little boy smiling as he learns how to rollerblade for the first time. They can’t taste the salty summer air or feel the heat of the sun upon their skin. They can’t smell the scent of bike tires on the hot pavement or the sweat dripping from a sun stained body. There are so many people who can’t feel and experience the world in the way that I can. For that reason alone I am beyond blessed. I have opportunities that they do not and it amazes me that something as simple as a dragonfly is enough to make me see how truly fortunate I really am on even the smallest of levels.

Most of us spend our days thinking about all the things we don’t have in this life without ever really thinking about what we do have. I’m just as guilty of this as anyone else. I’m always wanting more and thinking about what I don’t have rather than seeing the beauty in what I do have. I can see, hear, smell, taste, and feel things that others cannot and in this moment right now that is enough for me. All of these things are gifts and I need to appreciate them before they are gone. I think we all need to start appreciating the little things more before we wake up one day and the little things that we took for granted are gone and we are left with the regret of not being able to see the beauty of what was when it was ours.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

For writing updates you can:

Follow me on Twitter at Chrber07 https://twitter.com/#!/Chrber07

Or “Like” my new Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/colormechris

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Bike Trail Blessing

  1. That was a great post today. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Thanks for sharing.

    If you enjoy writing check out this writing site I signed up for months ago. It’s a very trusted site, and they are looking for writers!

    I recommend anyone who loves writing to go check it out!

    Have a great day.

    Excellent Writing Site – Writers Wanted

    Like

Leave a Reply

