Workforce Woes: The 30 Biggest Pet Peeves

I spent the better part of my shift today inside my own head coming up with the thirty biggest pet peeves that store clerks have and my mental responses to each. These are in no particular order and none of them are indicative of any specific establishment. I have worked in several retail settings and many of these are true across the board, no matter where one works. Some of these things are minor trespasses, while others are just plain ridiculous. Also keep in mind that I never actually say any of these things; I just think them. All of my examples are also from real life events and half of these things happened in one day alone during a six hour shift.

Enjoy and feel free to comment if you think I have forgotten any important ones. 

1. CELL PHONES

Oh, you can’t hear what I’m saying to you? Maybe you should put your damn phone down for a minute. Just a thought…

2. TALKING TO OTHER PEOPLE IN LINE

Hi. Do you remember me? The guy who is ringing everything up for you? Could you acknowledge my presence for a minute or two?

3. THROWING ITEMS

That package came open and you don’t understand why you have to wait for another one? Maybe it’s because of the way you were throwing everything on the belt. Maybe just maybe this is ALL YOUR FAULT!

4. PUTTING THINGS BACK

You don’t need this? Ok. (Fifteen minutes later) I’m noticing that half of your cart is going back. You are seriously inept when it comes to basic math. Please don’t come back. Ever. Because I know you’re going to do this every time you come in.

5. “I CAN’T FIND MY CARD, BUT I KNOW IT’S IN HERE SOMEWHERE!”

No it’s not. Just give up and move on.

6. COUPONS THAT DON’T SCAN

You couldn’t have used coupons that actually scan like they are supposed to? There goes another fifteen minutes of my life that I won’t get back.

7. “WAIT UNTIL I HAVE EVERYTHING UNLOADED.”

There are four people behind you in line and nobody in front and you need me to wait for you to have everything unloaded? And your arm is in a sling? F.M.L.

8. ASKING THE PRICE ON EVERY ITEM

B****, if you ask me the price on one more item, I will cut you. Asking about one or two items was fine, but now you’re pushing it.

9. GIVING THE CASHIER COUPONS AFTER THE ORDER

Oh you had coupons? That’s nice. Try mentioning them before I cash out the order?

10.MULTIPLE ORDERS ON THE EXPRESS LANE

Breaking one large order into three smaller orders is not a loophole in the policy. Not only have you ignored the sign and inconvenienced the people behind you, but now I think you’re an asshole to boot! Way to go, slugger.

11.MORE THAN THE ALOTTED NUMBER OF ITEMS AT THE EXPRESS LANE

Really, you only have twelve items? The register counted thirty-five.

I’m fairly certain that basic counting is part of the elementary school curriculum. So you’re either stupid or blind; probably both.

12.CARD SWIPES

I see that you have at least a dozen credit cards in your wallet and for some reason you still don’t know how to properly swipe a card. Let me help you because clearly you’re an idiot.

13.COMPLETELY IGNORING THE CASHIER WHEN HE/SHE SPEAKS

Why hello there captain high and mighty. You’re too good to speak to me? You and your belly shirt, bulging tattooed breasts, and filthy neglected children are above me? Ok. Clearly I don’t know my place so I’ll just be quiet now and not ask for anything that may save you money…like a store card.

14.PAYING FOR EVERYTHING IN CHANGE

Are you serious right now? You are seriously giving me fifteen dollars in nickels, dimes, and pennies. Do you know who I am? I’m your executioner if you waste another twenty minutes of my time counting it out.

15.“I FORGOT SOMETHING/I JUST NEED ONE MORE THING.”

Woman, there are three people behind you in line right now and you have the nerve to take off for a can of tuna? I’m not going to be the one to explain why they have to wait for you and if they decide to lynch you for your crimes, so be it.

16.UNABLE TO SPEAK THE NATIVE LANGUAGE

It really is hard to learn a new language, but if we cannot understand each other enough to make it through one grocery order there is a serious problem here and it’s not on my end. Get your shit together.

17.“I’M IN A HURRY.”

That’s nice. I’m gay. I’m glad we got that out in the open. Maybe you shouldn’t be buying a cartload of groceries if you’re in a hurry because chances are that it could take a little bit to ring it all up and bag it. Please excuse me while I go slower.

18.“THESE BAGS ARE TOO HEAVY. I CAN’T CARRY THEM.”

If your arms had a weight limit, you probably should have said something before I bagged everything.

19.“ARE YOU WAITING FOR ME?”

Actually I’m waiting for the end of my shift or my untimely death; whichever comes first. So please do me a favor and wipe that smirk off your face.

20.GOING TO A CLOSED REGISTER

Not only is my light off, but the closed sign is up as well. Am I open? Are you blind or just stupid?

21.EATING SCALED ITEMS BEFORE THEY ARE WEIGHED

Put the grape down and nobody gets hurt. You do realize that you are stealing right now, right? The total price comes from the weight of the item. How are you not getting this?

22.“ARE YOU OPEN?”

No. I’m standing here behind this register while the light is on for no reason whatsoever. You are so astute that I am in awe of your brilliance.

23.“CAN YOU PUT THE COLD ITEMS TOGETHER?”

Duh?!

24.“THE SIGN SAID…”

No it didn’t.

25.HANDING THE CASHIER A CARD AFTER IT HAS BEEN IN YOUR MOUTH

As if your card isn’t disgusting enough with caked on crud from being in your pocket; now it has your saliva to boot! I definitely needed to meet my germ quota for the day. Yes I plan on sanitizing my hands the moment I hand it back to you and no I don’t care if you’re offended.

26.DECIDING THAT YOU HAVE YOUR OWN BAGS AFTER THE ORDER HAS BEEN BAGGED

Customer: I had my own bags.

Are you serious right now? If you had your own bags why didn’t you give them to me? Am I supposed to read your mind? No. Get your shit together.

27.LIFE STORIES

I am not a bartender or your therapist. I do not need to know about the restraining order you had placed on your alcoholic son because he threatened the new ‘man’ in your life. All I need to know is how you will be paying and when you will be leaving because I’m already sick of you.

28.PLACING YOUR BASKET ON THE BELT AND EXPECTING THE CASHIER TO EMPTY IT

Oh no you didn’t…The basket goes in the same spot it has gone every other time you have come in. I don’t get paid to take the things out of it. Empty your things onto the belt the normal way or I’ll dump them out and see how well your tomatoes survive the fall.

29.A SIMPLE HELLO

I’m not asking for much. I don’t need us to be best friends; I just want you to acknowledge me as a person. A hello would suffice.

30.NOT KNOWING WHAT YOU ARE BUYING

Me: What kind of apple is this?

Customer: I don’t know.

You really have no idea what kind of apple you are buying right now? I think I hate you.

After reading this, if you have done any of these things while in a retail establishment, I encourage you to stop.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

For writing updates you can:

Follow me on Twitter at Chrber07 https://twitter.com/#!/Chrber07

Or “Like” my new Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/colormechris

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Workforce Woes: The 30 Biggest Pet Peeves

  1. Nikki B says:

    Yep I’m guilty of the expired coupons! That’s how I role!

    You for got the can I help you? Customer ignore, ignore ignore. walk away. then the customer rudely, Can I get some service. hello ass wipe I tried doing that 5 minuets ago but apparently I’m invisible.

    and my favorite whistling to get waited on. No I’m not a dog! why don’t you act like a human and use your words like umm…. I don’t know… Excuse me!!!!!

    Like

  2. Zen says:

    I was anxious as I went through your list, thinking one pet peeve might fit me, haha. Thankfully I classify as a good customer! … or at least I hope I do. xD

    Like

    • C.M. Berry says:

      Haha. Don’t worry. We’ve all done one of these things at some point whether we realize it or not. If it hasn’t happened yet it probably will. And these are just passing thoughts. Lol. Not meant to be taken too seriously. I actually really like a good portion of the people I have waited on and the good ones almost always make up for the bad ones. I’m also pretty forgiving so things don’t bother me too much. Thanks for giving this a read. =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

