A World Without Hate: My New Mission

A friend of mine from college posted a link on Facebook today to a story about a teenage lesbian couple that was shot and left for dead, one having died from her wounds already and the other in critical condition. Immediately upon seeing this link my heart sank and I was overcome with a feeling of loss for two people I had never met. Here we have two young girls just beginning their lives and having everything ripped away by a stranger simply because of their sexual identities.

After following the link and familiarizing myself with the story I was not only heartbroken by it, but enraged as well; enraged by the fact that someone felt that he or she had the right to do this to fellow human beings solely because of something that cannot be helped. These two girls did not choose to be born homosexual, nor should they be treated any differently as a result.

I am beyond sick and tired of the hate in this world; the sickening, repulsive, unwarranted hate that stems from the ignorance that many of us breed. If some of us don’t understand something we fear it and we hate that we fear it, which in turn makes us hate the people that are the source of what we don’t understand. We then let that hate take over and become a cardinal part of who we are, which then compels us to spread our hate to others. It becomes poison that circulates through everyone’s veins and spreads like wildfire. It’s disgusting and appalling. When did it become okay for us to take our own insecurities and translate them into violent acts against those we choose to blame? When did it become okay to vehemently stand in the way of another person’s happiness simply because we do not understand it?

I’ve continually told myself over and over not to allow these people to get under my skin. I’ve told myself to stay calm and to pity the people who miss the bigger picture: that we’re all in this together. BUT today I’m thinking that it’s no longer enough to sit back and be saddened by the news. It’s no longer enough to pity those poor bastards who simply don’t get it. It’s no longer enough to wait for the world to change. I’m tired of waiting. I’m tired of not doing anything. These two girls matter. They matter not only to each other or the people who love them, but to me as well. It could have easily been me being shot to death for being what I was born to be.

With that being said I think it’s time for me to declare open season on all bigots. I may not be the type of person who meets violence with violence, but I am sure as hell the type of person who will not rest until I am heard. I am tired of the hate in this world and I’m no longer going to sit idly by. I’m tired of keeping my mouth shut and I’m tired of seeing stories like this on the news. It has to stop. We have to realize that all we’re doing is destroying the most precious gift we have been given: life. We are ruining lives with the words we say and the things we do.

From this point onward I am not just an advocate for gay rights, but for human rights as well. I will make it my mission to meet my opposition with every single weapon in my arsenal from the power of my words to the previously untapped fire in my heart. I refuse to continue watching us destroy this world with our ignorance and hate. I refuse to let my life fall victim to the whims of bigots. I refuse to allow hate to take root. It’s time for a change and it all begins now with you and with me. Spread the love and stop the hate. We’ll all be better off if we do.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

The link that my friend posted on Facebook: http://www.rhrealitycheck.org/article/2012/06/26/teenage-lesbian-couple-was-shot-and-left-dead-what-we-do-in-now-in-response-matte

For writing updates you can:

Follow me on Twitter at Chrber07 https://twitter.com/#!/Chrber07

Or “Like” my new Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/colormechris

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

