The Upside Of Down

Here I am, sitting at my computer wondering how so many people can go through their days with such a negative outlook on everything. I’m not talking about someone who lets a stray sigh slip out here and there; I’m talking about a full on Debbie “Ruin My Day” Downer; the type of person who is so miserable that he or she radiates an aura of utter dismay and contempt for other human beings.

Life is hard. There’s simply no denying that fact. We all face struggles that test our fortitude and resolve in even the most trying of situations. Some of us face loss the likes of which others cannot comprehend. Some of us are hurting on the inside for any number of reasons, but that doesn’t give any one of us the right to spread that pain to others.

I personally have experienced innumerable challenges in my life that quite frankly make me want to crawl under a rock sometimes. Some days are so hard that I would like nothing more than to go home, crawl under the covers, and make love to my pillow (and a carton of ice cream). I’ve had days where I literally did not leave my bed because I was so miserable.

I did not, however, go out and spread my misery to the world at large. I’ll be the first to admit that I am not a bright, shiny, cheerful person. To say otherwise would be a blatant lie. In fact I’m probably one of the moodiest people you will ever have the misfortune of meeting. Despite that, I at least make a conscious effort to send out good energy into the world.

I go into work with a smile on my face and an enthusiasm that (to be perfectly honest) makes even me want to vomit. I do everything in my power to make others smile and pour an inordinate amount of energy into my friendships. I do what I can to combat the shit storm of life that many of us find ourselves in, going out of my way to avoid negativity. Lately, however, it seems like negativity will not avoid me.

Left and right I’m met with people who simply miss the bigger picture: that we’re all in this together. We’re all trying to make it in this world. Why do some of us have to make it so much harder by constantly seeing the downside of everything? I don’t need you to be a ray of sunshine because I am clearly not, but I do need you to see that I’m trying and to maybe meet me halfway. If I smile at you, smile back. If I say hello, say hello back. And do me a favor and bottle your depressing, self-pitying bullshit until you’re out of my sight.

Life is what we make of it and I am sure as hell trying to make mine better. I don’t need others trying to take that away from me. When it comes down to it I think we could all use a little more positive thinking to make the struggle a little less taxing. So from this point forward, I’m over the negativity and everyone who seems to make it their mission to spread it.

There are so many things that we can be thankful for if we simply take the time to appreciate them. If your life hasn’t turned out the way you want, do something about it. If you aren’t happy with the way you look, do something about it. If you can’t change something, change the way you think about it. There is always at least one good thing that comes from something bad. So maybe we need to stop looking at the downside of things and start seeing the upside of down because the only way we’re going to make it through the day unscathed is by trying our best to see things in a positive light.

Until next time…stay classy.

–          C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

