The Things I’ve Learned

Let’s be honest. My life hasn’t turned out anywhere near the way I had originally planned. Yes. I’m one of those people: the people who plan every little thing…Or at least I used to be until I realized that planning can only get me so far. When I was younger designing my life was simple. The difficulty came in following the design because let’s face it: nothing ever goes as planned.

In twenty-three years I have walked, run, and tripped into a life that is barely indicative of what I want or the person I would like to be. When I stop to take a look at who I am and where I have wound up I am faced with innumerable questions about every little decision I have made during the course my life. I used to panic at the sheer weight of it all.

In the last few months, however, I have found an unlikely peace with the choices I have made. Many of them have been poor and few if any have made me truly happy, but the reality of the situation is that with each and every decision (good or bad) I’ve learned something; I’ve learned big lessons and small lessons, easy lessons and hard lessons. I’ve learned things about others and more importantly about myself. With every decision I’ve grown and become more familiar with who I was, who I am, and who I want to be.

In twenty-three years I’ve learned how to be part of a world that (like myself) is a walloping work in progress. I’ve come to a point in my life now where I’d like to share what I’ve learned and with any luck maybe you’ll learn something too. And maybe, just maybe…I’ll learn something from you as well.

Until Next Time…

– C.M. Berry

About C.M. Berry

I'm an aspiring author, blogger, and poet fluent in sarcasm, profanity, and dark humor. I have something to say about everything and whether you love me or hate me, you'll always come back for more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

